About the city of Rijeka

Rijeka is the administrative center of the Primorje-Gorski Kotar County, the largest Croatian port, and the third-largest city in the Republic of Croatia.

Geographical coordinates: 45°20′ N, 14°26′ E

Surface area of the mainland: 44 km2

Total area including the maritime part: 136 km2

Population: 108,622 (2021 census)

Population density: 2,469 inhabitants/km2

Development index: 108.308

Level of development of the local government unit: VIII (highest group)

Climate: moderately warm humid climate

Average temperature: 14.2°C (January 5.7°C / July 24°C)

Annual precipitation: 1500+ mm

Predominant activities: manufacturing industry, construction, trade, transportation and storage, professional, scientific, and technical activities

License plate code: RI

Postal code: 51000

Geographical location and administrative boundaries​

The city of Rijeka developed at the mouth of the Rječina River, at the place where the Adriatic Sea is deeply drawn into the European mainland.

Rijeka stretches along the Gulf of Rijeka, part of the Kvarner Gulf, which is connected to the rest of the Adriatic Sea via Vela, Srednja and Mala vrata. The coastline of the city stretches from Preluk Bay in the west to Martinšćica Bay on the eastern edge. On the land side, Rijeka borders the cities of Bakar, Kastav and Opatija and the municipalities of Čavle, Jelenje, Kostrena, Matulji and Viškovo. The sea border of Rijeka is located next to the administrative borders of the cities of Kraljevica and Cres (island of Cres) and the municipality of Omišalj (island of Krk).

Urban agglomeration Rijeka

Urban agglomeration Rijeka was founded in 2015 by the Decision of the Ministry of Regional Development and EU Funds with the aim of strengthening the urban dimension of the regional development policy and more efficient use of funds from EU funds. Today, in addition to the city of Rijeka, there are 13 neighboring local government units in it – the cities of Bakar, Kraljevica, Kastav and Opatija, and the municipalities of Čavle, Jelenje, Klana, Kostrena, Lovran, Matulji, Mošćenička Draga, Omišalj and Viškovo. The total number of inhabitants in the area of ​​UA Rijeka is over 194,000.